top of page

Bye bye, Bali

Time really does fly when you’re having fun. As I write this, I can’t help but feel sad that my time here is near its end. I felt like as the trip went on, the days went by faster and faster.

Boating in Bali

The semester abroad was definitely something I could not have imagined; it was a mix of me wanting to do anything and everything during my free time, but also needing to do schoolwork. I’ve learned that I am more capable than I thought, and also that learning by doing truly is the best way to learn. I remember having a lecture on squid, cuttlefish, and octopus, and then going snorkeling immediately after and seeing my first cuttlefish! Or learning about the Hindu culture, and then getting to make our very own canang sari. Because of experiences like these, I feel a lot of the information I’ve received while here will be forever ingrained in my mind.


students interacting with a cow

If I had to choose my favorite thing about this place, it would definitely come down to the Balinese people. They are always so willing to help, ready to cheer you up, and super knowledgeable about their culture and history. I feel I got super close with all of our drivers and a lot of the hotel staff that we got to know during our longer stays in Pemuteran and Candidasa. I know for a fact that I will come back to Bali, and when I do, I am planning on reaching out to all the lifelong Balinese friends I’ve made.

Bali local in a kayak

As for people in the program, I am in awe at how close I have gotten to some of the people here and how my perception of everyone has changed. It’s hard to wrap my mind around the fact that I only just met everyone not even two months ago. I personally loved meeting and getting to know people from different majors, that I otherwise would have never met!

Natalia and friend about to go diving

There have been so many moments on this trip have taken my breath away, and made me question how I got to be so lucky. Not to say that I didn’t experience my own butas and kalas, but getting through those moments in a different country turned out to be a valuable experience. I am so sad to be leaving Bali so soon, but I am so glad to have made new friends that I can continue to see in Santa Barbara.

Natalia and a group of friends out in the evening



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page