top of page

Japan: A look into the summer program abroad

Updated: Apr 20, 2023

Japan program blogger Adia Hernandez concludes the program with final reflections on Japanese culture and traditions, and a load of gratitude.




“Travel changes you. As you move through this life and this world you change things slightly, you leave marks behind, however small. And in return, life - and travel - leaves marks on you. Most of the time, those marks - on your body or on your heart - are beautiful.” ~ Anthony Bourdain


This is the end of the program in Japan. These past few weeks have been invigorating, intoxicating, chaotic, daunting, and every second has been precious. The lessons I’ve learned are ones I will keep with me always. Japan has completely revitalized my soul.


I saw with my own two eyes a pavilion covered in gold, holding the ashes of Buddha. I rode a ferry to a floating temple, hung out with deer in Nara, and walked the streets of Harajuku and Nishiki market. I took a river cruise and visited Hiroshima's peace memorial museum. I stood atop Tokyo Tower overlooking the city, met Pikachu, and meditated at Taizo-in Zen Temple.


One experience happened after a morning of classes. We were treated to a traditional tea ceremony. As a lover of tea, specifically matcha tea as mentioned in my last blog, witnessing a performance was beautiful.


As the tea master prepared the bowl in her stunning kimono, my eyes could not leave her hands. There was a delicateness and confidence in her movements that was mesmerizing. From the way she wiped with her cloth, to her quick movements mixing the tea with a bamboo brush, everything had a purpose. Our tea master took the time to properly explain the intricacies of the ceremony, and because of this, I felt I made a deeper connection with Japanese culture.


We also had the pleasure of taking a cooking class with Cooking Sun. The afternoon I spent with them was remarkable. They were helpful and patient with all the students, created an environment full of love, joy, and happiness; exactly what a true kitchen should feel like. I had so much fun and the traditional bento they taught us to make was delicious!


Surrounded by the yummy aromas of chicken teriyaki and freshly fried tempura, my anticipation rose, to eat the handmade sushi rolls and spinach salad we had prepared. When I sat down to enjoy the meal, I felt a sense of accomplishment and pride that came from working together with my classmates and creating this meal as a team.


Taking college courses while abroad felt very different from my previous college workload. I became much more connected to the other students because of this experience, and I noticed that we were all able to help each other by guiding one another in the right direction.


Specific classes taught me about the culture we were immersed in, and also gave me time to reflect on the relationship with subjects outside my normal comfort zones. I learned from a collectivist culture like Japan. Instead of thinking individualistically, our communication class taught me about working with others while considering the greater good. This impacted me and taught me an important lesson.


It feels silly to say but I'm going to miss Family Mart, one of the kombinis! Kombinis are Japanese convenient stores like 7/11, and they are just as popular here. I can buy complete meals and they taste awesome. I don’t even have to leave to eat my food, instead I can take a seat in their eating area.

While I eat, the Family Marts are so inviting that I want to pick up some light reading and pull out some money at the ATM. If I need to print something out, I can do that there.


I’d like to say thank you to everyone I’ve met and who supported me on this trip.



I feel sad leaving Japan, but high-spirited knowing what I discovered. I received a taste of what the world has to offer, and it inspired me to return to California and make my home a better place. I will take the lessons I learned while abroad and apply them to my everyday life. I will practice more discipline, and make concessions of the world I am a part of. I’m leaving Japan with a lot more than what I came with, and that’s not just because I bought a backpack full of souvenirs.

I want to thank the AIFS staff, especially Jessica, Chie-san, and Hiro-san. Thank you to all the employees at the places we stayed, including MyStays, Kamo River, and Hotel Sunroute. Thank you to our tour guides, my professors Garard Sensei and Stinson Sensei who brought us to Japan and stayed by our side on this adventure. Thank you to everyone that took the time to lend us a helping hand. Last but certainly not least, I want to thank the group of students who came on this trip. I had a wonderful time and I’m glad to have shared this journey with all of them.


元気で (genki de) Japan!


To see more from the program in Japan, follow SBCC Study Abroad on Instagram @studyabroadsbcc, and search for #sbccjapan2018 or #sbccstudyabroad. More photos are available in a photo album for the programs on Facebook .


Read about the other SBCC academic adventures abroad, like the summer programs in Germany and France and check back in the fall, when the official Madrid program blogger shares experiences from Spain.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page