top of page

Beginnings in Florence

At the time of writing my first blog, it has been one week since I arrived in Florence and I have already fallen in love with the city. Every corner I walk past is a step into a history book come to life. First night in Florence I walked around the city admiring all the old architecture and window shopping at the places selling jewelry, clothes, and meats. On the first full day in Florence my roommates and I were swept away from the hotel we stayed the night to our new home for the next few months. A quiet neighborhood where a block away is a cute park to hang out at. I was able to unpack my stuff and for lunch, I joined my roommates to take out from a local restaurant downstairs. My first margarita pizza in Italy was delicious. The crust was light and flaky with flavorful marina sauce and mozzarella cheese. 


Pizza from Penta Bistrot

Right after I joined the rest of the class on a practical tour around the area, I learned where my classes would be and where to go if we needed food, school supplies, healthcare, and cellular data. My tour group passed Palazzo Vecchio (town hall) where a man, possibly Michelangelo, carved a self-portrait of himself on the wall right next to the front door. Once the tour was done, my roommates and I went back home to have a peaceful and quiet pasta dinner from the same place downstairs. 


Self Portrait of Michelangelo

Students- Sofia, Kate, Caroline, Sasha, and Isabella waiting outside for pasta dinner

The next day at 9 am my class had a historical walking tour of Florence. It was fascinating locating all the different 'Cattedrales' throughout the city. We also walked on Ponte Vecchio Bridge looking around all the unique shops and seeing all the delicious food we will get to eat while here.



For the rest of the week, I navigated throughout the city. Trying to get all of my essentials such as food, hygienic products, and cellular data. It was very easy because all the items that I would usually drive out to get were within a short walking distance of each other. On Saturday we had our first excursion to the Tower of Pisa as well as a short visit to the town of Lucca. Even in the rain, the tower was a sight to behold. The tower is a stunning example of Romanesque architecture and truly an architectural marvel. Our class also went on a guided tour around and inside the equally stunning Cattedrale di Pisa and Pisa baptistery. After the tour around Pisa, our bus dropped us off in Lucca for the rest of the afternoon. The group I was with went to have lunch at a restaurant near our stop. Then we embarked on a journey to the clock tower. There we climbed up an insane amount of stairs to the top of the clock tower to see a stunning view of all of Lucca. 


Pictures from the Pisa and Lucca Day Trip including Tour


I can't wait for the many adventures the program offers for the next couple of months. As an anthropology major who is also Italian, I am excited to navigate and interact with a culture that is very different from my own. Eat all different types of food from each region of the country. To appreciate where my family is from and how Italy has made an impact on the rest of the world. I am just so excited to be here.


ABOUT THE BLOGGER:



Isabella Bartnick
Isabella Bartnick

Hello, my name is Isabella Bartnick and I am majoring in anthropology. I will be the blogger for the Florence 2024 SBCC Study Abroad. My favorite activities to do are dancing, hot yoga, and writing. What I am looking forward to on this trip is seeing all the art and architecture that the city of Florence has to offer. As well as enjoy local food culture. Can't wait for all the exciting adventures waiting for me. Buon appetito!


145 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page