top of page

Impactful first days in Paris

Updated: Apr 27, 2023

SBCC student Catherine Ng has been selected as the official program blogger and social media representative for the Paris Summer 2018 program. We are excited to invite you along her journey with the group as they study Art and Architecture in the City of Lights. Join Catherine on this blog and follow us on Instagram at @studyabroadsbcc and @cathrocks_ to share the group’s experience of this exciting program in Paris headed by program director Dr. Joy Kunz.


Bienvenue France


After six busy days in Paris, I have fallen in love with this incredible city. As our flight touched the ground and we boarded the bus to the ACCENT center, excitement and bliss filled me. I was immediately fascinated with the beauty and complexity of Parisian life. The streets are lined with cafes and fruit stands selling the smoothest espresso and delicious produce harvested at peak ripeness. Couples walk hand in hand admiring beautiful architecture and landscape. It is clear that the inhabitants of this city understand the unique and breathtaking beauty of Paris, and have a level of reverence and appreciation for Paris that fosters incredible maintenance efforts to keep the city beautiful.


Tuesday morning, I rode the metro to class and upon taking my seat and pulling out my notebook, I was transported to the 19th century as we began our first lecture on neoclassicism. The afternoon’s walking tour of the Pere La Chaise Cemetery left me contemplating all the incredible people and events that graced the streets of Paris before me. I couldn’t wait to explore and learn as much as I could. Over the next few days, I discovered the brilliance of our art history and architecture course. We began our days with a short lecture, and then had a two-hour lunch break to explore and experience French cuisine. The streets of Paris became our classroom with a daily visit to monumental locations all around the city.

At night, our homework focused on the sight to be visited the next day. This flawless system is the most incredible way to study art history and architecture. Learning and analyzing a piece of art provided me with knowledge and education, but the reality of art is that one cannot fully appreciate the piece without seeing it in person. The opportunity to see art in the flesh allows the viewer to be touched by the artist, to absorb the emotions stored in the piece, and to authentically feel its powerful beauty. Thanks to in-depth morning lectures from Prof. Kunz, students are able to fully understand and appreciate the significance of whatever monument is visited in the afternoon. Likewise, I feel that viewing art authentically without first understanding the social context, background, and significance of the piece, inhibits the experience. While one may authentically appreciate and be affected by the art, it cannot fully be understood.

The SBCC summer France program has given students the opportunity to study art history and architecture in an incredible way. Rooted in my studies, analysis, and discussion of an art piece, observing the piece becomes a spiritually impactful experience. I have found myself holding back tears at the sight of many monumental works that are made more powerful by the class. Study and observation of neoclassical and romantic art, as well as early gothic architecture this week leaves me thirsting for more. Visits to Pere La Chaise Cemeters, Napoleonic monuments, Musee du Louvre, Notre Dame cathedral, Sainte Chapelle, and the Marinas district have left me in awe of humans’ power to create. The city becomes more beautiful every time I cultivate new knowledge of its art and architecture. I sometimes doubt that Paris could further amaze me, but without fail, I find myself in blissful appreciation of this city on my metro ride from class.

Check back in with Catherine and the Paris summer class on July 26th when she wraps up the program. Follow us and Catherine or #sbccfrance2018 on Instagram to get updates along the way!


About the blogger:

My name is Catherine Ng and I am a SBCC student majoring in chemistry. I have a passion for adventure and a goal to explore as much of this beautiful world as possible. I love art, hiking, yoga, music, coffee, and making new friends. Most importantly, I believe in the importance of sharing important stories and experiences with others so that together we can grow and spread goodness.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page