top of page

Rome, I'm coming

Updated: Apr 25, 2023

I’m counting down the days until I hop on my flight to Rome, Italy to experience a three-month semester abroad. With the regular SBCC Spring semester already in action, this new chapter is becoming more real and the eagerness has grown. I am going into this adventure with an open mind and I am so excited and grateful for what this experience has to offer!


The program is filled with approximately 30 students, along with Professors Sarah Boggs and Camila Acosta. In addition to an Italian language course offered by a separate Professor in Rome, Camila will teach a Personal Development class, while Sarah will be teaching two English classes: Contemporary Fiction and Creative Writing-Non Fiction. Both Professors have shared their passions for teaching these classes in Rome. They have expressed how much they love embracing Italian culture and have proven they will guide us in making Rome our new home.


There have been a couple of program encounters that have allowed me to meet many students of the program. These interactions have been filled with sharing our excitement and expectations of the upcoming semester, as well as expressing all the places we could travel to with Rome as our home base. I can already tell I will develop many strong friendships and I look forward to making valuable memories together.



Our last Meet and Greet was located at Professor Bogg’s house, who has welcomed us with open arms and shares her joy and guidance about the next few months. One of her great joys is the Italian food she has been raving about! I can't wait to try all the different dishes as I am a foodie myself. I feel great comfort with Sarah and Camila as our program leaders because they have already created a very welcoming environment that has lit a fire of curiosity and excitement in me to learn and explore the city of Rome!


Winter break has been filled with enjoying time with my friends and family, as I will be saying “Ciao!” very soon. Parts of my break have also been spent planning what to pack. This includes limiting how much I will be bringing, as I need room to fit all my shopping back in my suitcase! Italians are known for their style, so I would love to abide by this and explore new fashion senses.


I have never traveled to Europe before, so I am most excited about inserting myself into a new culture. Studying abroad provides an experience like no other in embracing new cultures as living abroad as a student creates an environment to live and learn like a local. I have a feeling I will fall in love with Italian culture and not want to come back! From the value of quality food to the slower lifestyle I hope to embrace the beauty of life in Rome.



About the blogger:


Hey there! My name is Erika Kunzmann, a student at

SBCC, originally from San Jose, California. I found myself at SBCC for the many opportunities the school offers, and also to fall into my comfort zone of my love for the beach. From swimming in the ocean, playing volleyball on the sand, to watching beautiful sunsets, I love spending my days living by the water. I also enjoy nature, yoga, taking photos, and trying new things. In light of new adventures, I am choosing to study abroad in Rome, Italy to break out of my comfort zone and explore a new culture and way of living. I am excited to take many photos and bring back new perspectives when I return to Santa Barbara.










Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page