top of page

When In Rome...

Updated: Apr 24, 2023

A saying I’ve heard many times, but never actually understood. However, being in Rome has made me realize that there are no restraints to this saying. There are endless possibilities to indulge in exploration and culture when in Rome.




This past month abroad has been filled with exploration. The adventure started as I got into the taxi with two classmates from my flight to get to our housing accommodation. I was surprised at the number of stairs it took to get to my apartment, but was grateful for the beautiful window view I get from my room. On the second day, we walked to school, which is about 30 minutes. Now this walk is easy, as I’ve become accustomed to getting so many steps in per day. We then embarked on a walking tour of Rome, where we explored sights such as the Trevi Fountain (where I threw a coin in) and learned the history of many sculptures, fountains, and buildings.


Along with exploring the beauty of Rome, I have indulged in the beauty of food. At first, with a lack of research, I was stumbling into many tourist traps with average, overpriced food. Now, however, I have a list of many amazing restaurants. The dining experience is much different here in Italy. Sitting at dinner, or going for an aperitivo (appetizer), is placed with much higher value. Properly enjoying your food, and pairing it with the right wine is the Italian way. The waiters only give you your check if you ask, as there is no rush for you to leave. The food quality is also incredible. Even just grabbing some groceries at the market has left me greatly satisfied as the produce is so fresh. The Nutella, in particular, has been my weakness as it is just so good here!

View from my apartment

Along with restaurants, I have explored incredible gelato, cool clubs, and many thrift shops with amazing finds. With the adrenaline of exploring I’ve also been on several weekend and day trips.


My first was to Florence with a few other students. It’s been a fun learning experience navigating all the different modes of transportation and finding the most reasonable accommodations. I also went to Naples for the weekend of my birthday, and Sperlongia this past weekend for a day. I purchased a train pass that gives me access to these adventures, and it is been so much fun exploring the different parts of Italy. This weekend we have our first group excursion to the Saturnia Hot Springs in Tuscany, which will include time spent in the town of Siena.

Makenna and Ali before hopping on the Metro

Pizza from Naples




Me + The Colosseum











Much self-exploration has also been included in the classes I am taking here. Personal Development, taught by Camila Acosta, has allowed me to explore my personality and its strengths, giving me a sense of what career direction I might look into. Creative Writing, where we each write a memoir, has allowed me to further explore myself through writing as well as learn about each individual on this trip. Lastly, Italian, taught by our fan-favorite Professor, Fernando, has allowed me to insert myself into the Italian culture and be able to communicate with the locals. I look forward to the next two months of adventure and am so grateful for this incredible opportunity of exploration.



About your blogger:


Hey there! My name is Erika Kunzmann, a student at SBCC, originally from San Jose, California. I found myself at SBCC for the many opportunities the school offers, and also to fall into my comfort zone of my love for the beach. From swimming in the ocean, enjoying the sand, to watching beautiful sunsets, I love spending my days living by the water. I also enjoy nature, yoga, taking photos, and trying new things. In light of new adventures, I am choosing to study abroad in Rome, Italy to break out of my comfort zone and explore a new culture and way of living. I am excited to take many photos and bring back new perspectives when I return to Santa Barbara.






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page