top of page

Where to next?

Updated: Apr 24, 2023

Deciding where to travel over spring break was kind of like flipping a coin. There were too many great options and I knew anywhere I went would be a good experience of exploring. Greece, Sicily, and Malta became the final 3 to decide from for me and a couple of friends from the program. Heads, Malta.


After spending the start of the weekend in Rome, I made my way to the airport to head to Malta, a country of islands below Sicily, Italy. Once arriving, we also had to take a ferry to the island of Gozo, where our Airbnb was located. Taxi to ferry to another taxi eventually took me and 10 others to a large farmhouse with a pool, sun chairs, and a view of the Mediterranean. Malta’s scenery was beautiful. Untouched flowers, bright blue water, and barren buildings created a blissful atmosphere.


blue lagoon and a sail boat

The next day we all embarked on a pre-planned boat tour. This also took a taxi, ferry, then another taxi to get us to the correct port, and the adventure continued as we sailed through the crystal clear water, passing by islands with much historical value and beauty. The boat stopped in a small island called the “blue lagoon”, which was filled with many food and drink trucks, helping everyone enjoy their stay. We all had 3 hours to hang out on the island of turquoise, clear water. I was shocked to also see that the water was filled with endless jellyfish! This didn’t stop me from hopping in the water, as I’ve been longing for the ocean.


The next 3 days were spent relaxing by the pool and soaking up the sun. We also went out to dinner a couple of times. I loved the seafood pasta and especially the oysters at one of the restaurants.

The last day was a major travel day. At 4 a.m. we had to wake up to head to the airport in Malta to catch our early flight. Again: drive, ferry, drive to the airport. Plane, taxi, now back to my apartment in Rome. This wasn’t all, since I also booked the same night to stay in Cinque Terre. So, the metro to train to Cinque Terre was the next adventure! As I stepped off the train in Riomaggiore, I stopped In shock, realizing my purse was missing, I must of left it on the train. After realizing there was no number to call or person to talk to to get it back, I accepted the fact that I couldn’t get it back, but a couple of days later I received a DM from an Italian girl who grabbed my purse in the Roma Termini station bathroom! My driver's license was in my purse so she looked up my Instagram. Luckily my username isn’t the same as 5th grade, and it is simply my first and last name. I was so grateful she grabbed my purse, however, she was in Milan…

colorful houses

My stay in Riomaggiore was beautiful. Even though I was tired, and credit cardless, it was still amazing to see all the colorful houses stacked up the hill, and the maze of stairs that got you to and fro. In the morning, the girls I was traveling with and I got a cappuccino and breakfast at a cafe then went on our way to explore. We took the train to Monterosso, a beach town in Cinque Terre, and spent our day stopping at different places to enjoy the view with a drink or appetizer. The weather wasn’t the best, so we didn’t do any swimming, but we still had a great day.


Sunset over Milan

Back in Rome, I spend the rest of the weekend relaxing, walking around, and doing some more thrifting. Where to next? Still on my mind a week later, I am on a train back from visiting a friend in Nice, France. On my way back to Rome, I just had a stop in Milan, where the girl and I arranged a way for me to get my purse! The adventure continues as a soak up new sights, and cultures, and try to foods with an open mind, filled with gratitude for the experiences I’ve been seizing.







About your blogger:



Hey there! My name is Erika Kunzmann, a student at SBCC, originally from San Jose, California. I found myself at SBCC for the many opportunities the school offers, and also to fall into my comfort zone of my love for the beach. From swimming in the ocean, enjoying the sand, to watching beautiful sunsets, I love spending my days living by the water. I also enjoy nature, yoga, taking photos, and trying new things. In light of new adventures, I am choosing to study abroad in Rome, Italy to break out of my comfort zone and explore a new culture and way of living. I am excited to take many photos and bring back new perspectives when I return to Santa Barbara.








Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page