top of page

Konichiwa Japan!

Adventuring into the world of Japan is breathtaking. From the moment I walk out of the airplane all of my expectations are met as I see all the pop culture icons, futuristic tech, and giant buildings. Excitement is the only feeling in my body as I stare at the dozens of neon signs lining the buildings of Tokyo and head toward the hostel.


The hostel was located in the middle of Tokyo and gave us access to anywhere in the city from the station next to my building. The room I stayed in was located on the 18th floor of the hostel and gave a beautiful view of the city, especially during its sunsets. Meeting my roommates was a fun experience and gave me an opportunity to make friends right away!



The professors guided us through our new living accommodations and held classes at the hostel itself, so we never had to travel far for class. Classmates were all filled with the same excitement as I was and made the trip all the more fun, as I could adventure with them all. I enjoyed getting to know new people, while also discovering new places I had never dreamed of.


Tokyo in itself is a world that cannot be explored in only a month, as much as I tried. From virtual reality arcades to five-star restaurants, Tokyo has anything you could possibly imagine and more, only a short train ride away. I ventured into an endless amount of stores throughout my trip, finding all sorts of goods not available in America. From luxury brands to homemade goods, Japan truly has something everyone can appreciate. Prices were surprisingly inexpensive in Japan, as well, giving me a chance to try new foods and activities without breaking the bank. I was able to explore the more rural side of the country on the weekends and traveled to the famous Nikko National Park to visit its bridge and temples.



While in Nikko I was engulfed in new foods and stayed in a traditional Japanese hostel with other members of the study abroad program, all at an affordable price. I was given the opportunity to participate in a traditional matcha tea ceremony with the class on one of our field trips, and make my own tea from scratch. The field trips we embarked on were all special in their own way and included the tea ceremony, trip to Tokyo Tower, and adventure at Team Labs Tokyo.




My expectations were exceeded on this trip, as I never imagined I could do so much in a month, yet feel as though I had not even scratched the surface of activities Japan had to offer. I already find myself missing Japan, as my list of goals is far from complete, but hope to revisit soon to reammerce myself in its fascinating culture.



Japan summer 2023 program blogger Max Brodie
Max Brodie

Meet the blogger:

Max Brodie is a film and business student at SBCC and will be transferring to LMU in the fall. Film and photography are his passion and he was not able to wait to bring a piece of the Japan abroad program to everyone.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page