top of page

Arrivederci, Roma

Updated: May 23, 2023

When I wrote my first blog, I had no idea what to expect from my abroad experience. I didn’t know any Italian, didn’t know many people from the program, and honestly couldn’t draw you any sort of map of Europe. I also didn’t expect to have grown so much in these three months.


This program, which is now bittersweetly over, has been such a positive growth experience for me. I knew I would be taking Personal Development as a part of the program, but I didn’t expect each class and experience to be so connected to my personal growth. I have learned so much about my personality, my values, and goals. Many understandings have been brought to light, (e.g. my love of photography, and my value of health). I have also learned the importance of being uncomfortable, and to not be scared of it, as it only leads to learning, new perspectives, and ultimately growth.


I also came to understand the importance of just being myself. I know that can sound corny in sayings, but it really is so necessary. There were instances while traveling in groups and going with the flow, when I realized I needed to do what I wanted to do. Going with the flow isn’t always best if I’m sacrificing things that are important to me, even if they might not be for others.


I also learned so much about traveling in general and feel much more confident in my abilities. These three months have lit a fire that I know is just getting started and will keep burning, as my desire to travel and seek new adventures awaits me.


Rome was an amazing home. I loved that there was so much to do and see. If I had to choose a favorite thing about Rome, I think I would say the fresh food and water. All over the city, there are many drinking fountains that deliver endless cold, crisp water (incomparable to the Santa Barbara tap). The food is also so fresh and delicious. I loved going to the market to pick up fresh fruit (favorites being the grapefruit and strawberries), delicious eggs, pasta and sauce (pesto or tomato with basil), and much more. Of course, I also loved eating at many restaurants, still leaving with so many more to try!


Erika eating authentic Italian pizza
Erika eating authentic Italian pizza

Our study abroad group was so special and diverse. Everyone had different backgrounds and personalities, but we all blended together with open arms. Sarah and Camila were amazing teachers, mentors, and friends who really made our time in Rome such an enjoyable learning adventure. Their positive spirit and honesty produced an optimistic relationship to learning for the group and created much inspiration for our futures.




Allora, I can’t leave out Fernando. Our Italian professor touched all of our hearts with his kindness, thoughtfulness, and wisdom. Many students connected with him from his witty sense of humor and genuineness. On the days that I would be traveling for the weekend or break, he would give a list of extensive recommendations for each location, and always answered all our questions. Saying goodbye to him was very sad, but we all sought to convince him to make his way to Santa Barbara.


Italian instructor Fernando showing off his learning materials
Italian instructor Fernando

As I write this blog, I am met with my last day in Italy (I ended up staying past the program date to travel with my mom). Even though I looked forward to coming home for various reasons like Mexican food, the last day of the program was filled with tears. These tears were part sadness for leaving the home filled with new friends I’ve made, but also tears of gratitude for this incredible experience of growth and adventure.


So, arrivederci Roma (goodbye, until we meet again).




About your blogger:



Hey there! My name is Erika Kunzmann, a student at SBCC, originally from San Jose, California. I found myself at SBCC for the many opportunities the school offers, and also to fall into my comfort zone of my love for the beach. From swimming in the ocean, enjoying the sand, to watching beautiful sunsets, I love spending my days living by the water. I also enjoy nature, yoga, taking photos, and trying new things. In light of new adventures, I am choosing to study abroad in Rome, Italy to break out of my comfort zone and explore a new culture and way of living. I am excited to take many photos and bring back new perspectives when I return to Santa Barbara.




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page