top of page

My New Home Called Rome


While writing this blog, it has hit me that I am about to depart from a place I consider home. However, a week from today, I will be back in my former home, which I have known since childhood.

While studying abroad, a goal was to shape my environment to be one that I feel like I am truly living in, not just vacationing. This goal quickly became a reality when I started to pick up the familiarities of Rome. Such as the older couple that sits outside my apartment together to people watch, the long-haired man who sings rock music on the bridge that leads to Trastevere, or the pestering restaurant promoters who never fail to ask me if I want to eat at their restaurant, even if I have ignored them for three months. These things, amongst many others, make Rome my home, for they are things I find myself looking forward to after a weekend away.

My expectations before studying in Rome were almost non-existent for Europe, roommates, my own place, etc., were unfamiliar concepts to me. Although, my expectations for the program, Accent, which we are affiliated with, had its ups and downs. What I appreciated about Accent were the two excursions planned for us. My group went to Florence, Venice, Pompeii, Sorrento, and Capri. It was an incredible opportunity to experience all parts of Italy through Accent.

There are a plethora of things I have learned while studying abroad. One of them is that doing this program is one of the best decisions I have ever made. Before this trip, there was a time when I was weary about going, for it required me to step outside of my comfort zone completely. However, this discomfort has taught me how to be a better student, traveler, roommate, friend, problem solver, and person. These lessons were not ones I expected to learn but have become the ones I cherish the most.


Our group of students is not unified in the sense that we all have different subgroups. I, for one, have met some of my best friends while in this program. This has been one of the biggest blessings of studying abroad and one I did not expect. As for the others, from what I gather have done the same. It takes a particular person to study overseas, which creates a group of people with similar ambitions, solidifying the friendships you make while doing it.

Rome is a place I never thought I would know the ins and outs of. I will miss Rome's energy, sleepless nights, and intoxicating beauty. It is a place hard to do any justice with writing. Rome is a destination that I completed and is sadly coming to a close. Although, part of my heart lies here, in Rome, which is something that will never end.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page