top of page

Oh la la - Live & learn in Paris

My initial thoughts on the program were very positive. Paris is a beautiful, clean city with excellent public transport and truly incredible food. I definitely felt out of the ordinary since neither my roommate nor I speak French. Fortunately, our host mom speaks good English and has been helping me with my French.



My expectations for the program were to explore the city and learn about French culture. I wanted to immerse myself in the experience, and I feel I’ve achieved that. I’ve learned about cultural norms and what makes Parisians different from Americans.


When I started the trip, I was very excited. The jetlag was brutal, but being in a place I had never been before was wonderful. I really enjoyed getting to know the people on my trip and feel fortunate to have two professors who are passionate about teaching. I was surprised by the difference in the quality of American food versus French food. It had been a long time since I had been in Europe, and I had forgotten how exquisite the cuisine is.



So far, my trip has had its ups and downs. I'll start with the challenges: the commute was something I had never experienced before. I had never used public transport, and it was definitely frustrating at times. However, once I learned the subway system, I was able to navigate pretty well. There were also some unexpected aspects of the program, such as the included breakfast being just toast instead of a full meal. Getting enough sleep was a major issue, but once I adjusted to the time, it was fine.


On the positive side, it has been great to live in a new city and enjoy the architecture and people. I’ve had many cool experiences meeting people from different countries as well as locals in Paris. The people in my group are very cool, and I’m fortunate to have an amazing roommate. We get along very well, and I’ve had a blast getting to know her better and spending time with her. My two favorite parts of the trip so far have been visiting the gardens of Versailles and going to Cannes and swimming in the Mediterranean Sea. Learning about the history of Paris has also been very interesting. The Paris Opera House was breathtaking and something I will never forget.



The reality of studying abroad was definitely different from my expectations. I expected things to be easier and didn’t realize how independent I would need to be. I wasn’t expecting to be sleep-deprived and to have limited free time. Despite these challenges, I don’t regret coming as it has been a unique experience that has gotten me out of my bubble. I’ve learned a lot about myself, as well as about Paris.


My favorite thing about Paris has to be the food. Everything is incredibly fresh and tastes completely different from how it does in the United States. I don’t know how I’m going to adjust to American food again, as I’ve gotten used to no longer having stomach pain and feeling more energetic from what I’m eating. I also enjoy eating out without the pressure of having to tip. As a server myself, I rely on tips for a fair wage, but I don’t think this is a good business model and appreciate that it isn’t a thing here.


During my study abroad, I have learned some French. My host family’s insistence on me working on my French motivated me to pick up some phrases. I’ve also learned how to manage my time better and deal with my stress in a healthier way.




Writer Claire Overman

About the Blogger:


Claire is a weightlifter and an artist. She’s originally from Washington state but moved to California six years ago. She’s passionate about fitness and health and hopes to move to Europe in the near future.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page