top of page

Things you didn't know before studying art in Paris





SBCC Student Catherine Ng spent a month of her summer in Paris, the city of light, art, love, and culture. Join Catherine as the programs comes to an end, and the time studying art and architecture surrounded by the sights, sounds, and scents of this metropole paints its final brush stokes on her.


Science says that looking at art triggers a release of dopamine in the same area of the brain that registers romantic love. New art everyday this month has changed my life and my brain forever. Studying 19th century art and architecture in Paris has taught me things about myself and the world that will effect me for the rest of my life.

Many small observations during my days and nights in Paris have helped me understand the Parisian culture. I realized that Parisians root themselves so deeply in a love of art and beauty. From the metro entrances to the way people interact, Paris is a work of art. Living in Paris means being surrounded by works of art at every turn. Thus, I was in a constant state of admiration. I believe this is why the Parisians are such kind and beautiful people with an appreciation for the pleasures of life. Food is served in small portions, enjoyed slowly, and savored without rush.

Business hours are relatively short (10am-6pm) for the purpose of allowing people to spend time with their loved ones or on hobbies. Families spend Sunday mornings picnicking in beautiful parks. A mother and her two children pause on their walk home to stand above the wind vent to the metro and giggle when their skirts fly up. Before coming to Paris my concept of culture was surface level. Culture to me meant a different flag, cuisine, and language. After a month in Paris, I realize how deeply culture is rooted. Culture includes not just traditions and costumes but effects perspective, opinions, and reactions. I am surprised by how different Parisians view the world or think life should be spent. I expected to see amazing things and make great memories while abroad. What I didn't expect was how different I feel and how much I've grown. I have realized how amazing other cultures are and feel eager to continue exploring the world. I think the group of students lucky enough to have studied in Paris this month all share a large amount of growth and experience of new perspectives.

I can only agree that art has a powerful effect on the brain. Seeing Monet's "Water Lilies" conveyed a sense of peace and tranquility to me. The Vincent Van Gough museum reminded me how much emotion can be stored in a color. Impressionist exhibitions encourage appreciation of the beauty of everyday life. Everyday this month has been spent surrounded by art. As I continued studying art I have acquired the tools necessary to truly understand a piece, and in understanding a piece I became vulnerable to the artist. Art offers a new perspective and stores messages waiting to be uncovered by the viewer. Studying art abroad in Paris has shown me many new perspectives, and has effected me in ways I hope will allow me to better understand people different than me. I hope I will carry on a desire for exploration, knowledge, and understanding of the world when returning home. Catherine Ng


SBCC offers short and semester programs year-round in many different fields of study. Visit the Study Abroad website to learn more about the faculty-lead programs or call SBCC Study Abroad at (805) 730-4294.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page