top of page

Best Destinations: Top Locations chosen by SBCC students

SBCC student Arianna Pizzuti studied abroad in Bologna, Italy. She took the time out of her busy day, to answer a few questions about her favorite travel and study destination.


Why did you choose this destination?

I have already studied here for 8 months during 2020 and made the best friends of my entire life here. Prior to Covid hitting, I joined an association called ESN Bologna, which is basically an association for international students who are studying abroad at the University of Bologna. Through this organization, I made some of the best friends in my life from France, Italy, Brazil, Spain, and other countries through amazing trips we took to different cities in Europe. After Covid hit, we basically had to stay two months inside our apartments with no communication other than over phone, on WhatsApp. Quarantine in Italy was traumatizing but extremely bonding as we relied on each other for social communication, and after the quarantine was lifted, we were able to see each other regularly and become even closer as friends than before the quarantine. Every summer since 2020 I have gone back to visit them and they remain some of my closest friends to this day.

What courses would you want to take there and why?

I actually had my classes cancelled one day into my first class because of Covid hitting. I was attending through UCSB’s Study Abroad program and UCSB did not want to accept the liability of a student in Italy anymore so they cancelled all of my classes at the University of Bologna. I never had the chance to actually study more than one day!

What do you like most about this destination?

It’s a university city, so basically you are surrounded by students attending the University from all over Italy as well as thousands of international students from around the world. Additionally, the University of Bologna is one of the oldest institutions in the world, dating back to 1088. I love the student life and ESN Bologna and IC Bologna (the two major international student groups) plan the best trips and have some of the most dedicated, funny, and kind members you could ever meet. You are also in a cultural and food paradise as Bologna is not only an extremely diverse city but also sports some of the most delicious specialties (Ragu sauce being one in particular). It’s extremely cheap to travel and there are thousands of resources for students in the city to access housing, travel, and student life.

If you have been there, are there any local experiences you would recommend to visit outside of the more famous tourist spots?

Of course! Take a train to literally anywhere within Italy for less than €100 and see some of the most famous spots in the world such as Cinque Terre, Rome, Positano, Napoli, Bari, Venice, Milan, and so many more. You can also fly to other countries such as Spain, France, and others for less than €20 sometimes!

If you have been there before, what is something unexpected you learned about this

destination? If you have not been there, what are you looking forward to see or experience

there?

I did not expect to make the best friends in my life from Bologna. After every other American student from my UC program returned home when Covid hit, I was the only one to stay in Bologna. Because of this, my international friends practically became my family.





Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page